Harston and Newton Community Primary School
  • Google Search
  • Google Translate
Scroll Down


The Early Years Curriculum


The Early Years Curriculum consists of three Prime areas and four specific areas:

Prime Areas

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development

Specific Areas

  • Understanding of the World
  • Literacy
  • Expressive Arts and Design
  • Mathematics


Each of the seven areas have a series of Early Learning Goals that children are expected to reach by the time they leave their Foundation year. A Foundation Stage Profile is completed on each child to monitor their progress towards achieving these goals.  At the end of the Reception year all parents are given a formal report which provides information on whether their child has met or exceeded the 17 Early Learning Goals in the seven areas of learning. 

Autumn 2017 Curriculum Letter 1

Welcome to Ruby Class!


Wow! What an amazing start to the year. We have had such a lovely time getting to know all the children. They have all settled so well. Lots of busy learning and exploratory play has been taking place already - photos to follow. This term we are learning about Ourselves. Please see the Marvellous Me Curriculum Letter for more information about what we will cover.


We would love to have parents/grandparents/carers in to help. Either on a regular basis or as a one off. The children love having visitors in to read, paint, build dens or help with the garden. Please do come and let us know if you would like to come in to class.


Rebecca Grey - Class Teacher

Julie Chapman - Teaching Assistant




1 8 0 2 9 Visitors
All website content copyright © Harston and Newton Community Primary School
Harston and Newton Primary School. Welcome to our website. For Vacancies and an application form, see Key Information